EXCLUSIVE: Lisa Marie Presley on Scientology, its leader David Miscavige, and why she left

Karen#1

TONY ORTEGA
Excerpt:

[Lisa Marie Presley in 2015]

How I got to know Lisa Marie Presley was that a bomb went off in the Los Angeles Times on April 8, 2015.

That day, a story by Kim Christensen appeared which revealed that for 18 months, a pair of private investigators hired by Scientology leader David Miscavige had been paid $10,000 a week to spy on Dave’s own father, Ron Miscavige, who had escaped from one of Scientology’s secretive California bases.

The LA Times story was based on a police report from West Allis, Wisconsin after the two private eyes, a father and son team, had been picked up after appearing suspicious. Police found a small arsenal in their vehicle, including an illegal rifle silencer fashioned from PVC pipe. The father was looking at 10 years in federal prison for it, and so the two of them sang like canaries.

I had been talking to Ron privately since his 2012 escape, and I called him up to congratulate him on the huge story. But he said the real reason that the story was coming out now, and in the LA Times, was all thanks to Lisa Marie. The two of them had been very close in Scientology, and now that he was out, that relationship continued.

But what, I asked, was Lisa Marie Presley doing dropping bombs on David Miscavige through the press? Could I get that story?

He put me in touch with her, and a week after the Times piece appeared, she started talking to me about her history in Scientology. And talking.

It turned out that for years she’d been a daily reader of my website the Underground Bunker where I cover Scientology news as a regular beat, and she’d been tempted to talk to me for a long time.

She said that the story of growing up in Scientology, becoming one of its more visible celebrities, and then breaking away after becoming more aware of its abuses was a complex tale.